Facebook: Delete Doesn’t Mean “Deleted”

MP900316552 It’s not as if I haven’t stated this several times before, but I might as well do so again.  When you delete something in the technology world, it rarely means the item is erased – at least not in the manner one imagines when one deletes something.

Computers simply mark the area where the item resides and make it available to be overwritten.  However, an overwrite may take place immediately, weeks, months or even years later – or never.  The link to the item may stay alive and if not, many times someone like me can still find and access it.

Just a hump-day reminder…

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someonePrint this page